Political Forums  

Go Back   Political Forums > Economy
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 11-16-2010, 02:18 AM

Post My anecdotal observations of the recovering economy:

A couple years ago, when things really started to go to hell, I chose from the beginning to remain optimistic. This was something we as a country had coming to us, but IMO there's almost no way we won't come back. Not like before perhaps (hopefully), but the doom and gloom messages of the media - well, I largely ignored them.

Until this summer I was a store manager in retail, working for a major corporate company that has over 1,300 stores nationwide. Like everyone, we were hurt by the recession. Stores closed (mine almost did too in fact), we stopped hiring part timers for the most part, and my supervisor came down on me (and everyone in our district) harder than ever before when it came to budgeting and saving money.

However... there were signs of dramatic change already in late summer 2009. According to corporate reports, sales suddenly and dramatically rose to higher than ever before during that time of the year, and stayed that way. I saw more and more business in my store. And I'm not talking about people buying the basic necessities, these were luxury purchases.

This continued, and things got even better before I left the company in August 2010. I networked with other store managers both within and out of our company, and they were observing and experiencing the same trends, by and large.

This reinforced my original thought when the economy really began to crumble. It's sort of crude but the message is clear: Americans can't not buy stuff (see ). I say it like that half-jokingly, but I mean it. With whatever money they can scrape up, I think most Americans will, sooner or later, begin to consume at levels that will hopefully help bring back the economy.