Political Forums  

Go Back   Political Forums > Introductions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 12-11-2016, 09:27 PM

Hello

Hi,

Just want to reintroduce myself. Political Chat has always been a safe place for me to express my political views and hear yours. Thank you for the safe environment.

Tonight I got a healthy chuckle as I read the forum. It reminded me of my early days of battling with patent examiners. As a patent agent apprentice I learned and used the adjective "bald-faced" to describe what I felt were examiners' emotional knee-jerk rejections to my clients' inventions. I only used the phrase a few times, but God, when I wrote it I felt like King Kong. It felt awesome to tell "the man" that they were being emotional.

That was back when I thought all legal proceedings had to be in writing and everyone knew what everyone else wrote. I wanted to win in writing.

It took me a few years to be comfortable with calling patent examiners and discussing the issues that they had with my clients' inventions. Once I talked to the examiners I learned that they were under the same time pressures that I was to move inventions down the production line. That was about when a bigger question struck me.

What are we inventing? That is my new mindset as I write with you all.

Peace!
Old 12-11-2016, 09:56 PM
Ready

We're inventing ourselves. We influence each other some, but I think the main benefit of foruming, if there is one, is reflexive.

We stimulate each other, but we very seldom persuade each other. When we change, we change ourselves.
Old 12-15-2016, 07:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by donquixote99 View Post
We're inventing ourselves. We influence each other some, but I think the main benefit of foruming, if there is one, is reflexive.

We stimulate each other, but we very seldom persuade each other. When we change, we change ourselves.
Persuasion is an elusive art. That is what I am learning from foruming.